How can I prevent users from withdrawing devices from the unit through device operations?
The following table lists the device operations that can withdraw a device from the unit and how to prevent them.
| Device operation that withdraws the device | How to prevent it (iOS) | How to prevent it (Android) |
|---|---|---|
| Deleting the MDM profile on the device | Set Allow MDM profile removal in the ADE profile to OFF | Use Device Owner mode |
| Erasing through a device operation | Set Allow Erase All Content and Settings in the profile to OFF | Set Prohibit factory reset in the profile to ON |
| Erasing due to exceeding the number of failed passcode attempts Note: Only when specified in the profile | Use ADE (after erasing, the device automatically enrolls and can be returned to the unit's management) | Use zero-touch (after erasing, the device automatically enrolls and can be returned to the unit's management) |
| Overwriting with iTunes backup data | Set Allow pairing with non-Configurator hosts in the profile to OFF | - |
| Overwriting with iCloud backup data | Set Do not restore from backup in the ADE profile to ON | - |
Last updated: April 5, 2024