Apps are not updated even though the app Auto Update setting is Enabled
When Auto Update for an app is set to Enabled in the admin console, new app versions are detected late at night. When an update is detected, an install command is sent in the next sync.
On devices where a new version has been detected, App name: Update by sync is required is displayed in the Sync Status of the device details.
If this message is not displayed, the app may have been released after version detection ran, so wait for the next day's detection.
If this message remains displayed and the status does not become Synchronized, see this FAQ.
Last updated: January 15, 2026