I deleted a Web Clip distributed by a profile on the device. Can it be displayed again?
You can display it again by reinstalling the profile.
Due to iOS/iPadOS specifications, if you delete the icon of a Web Clip distributed by a profile from the Home Screen, it cannot be displayed again until the profile is reinstalled.
The following explains how to distribute a profile to specific devices only.
- Open the detail screen of the template assigned to the target device and duplicate the template with the
Copy Templatebutton.
For details, see Copy a registered template. - On the edit screen of the duplicated template, unassign the Web Clip profile.
- On the edit screen of the duplicated template, assign the target device.
- Click
Save & Sync. The uninstall command for the Web Clip profile is executed. - On the Sync Status tab of the target device's detail screen, confirm that
<Profile name>: Uninstallation by sync is requiredis displayed.
When this message disappears, you can confirm that the uninstallation is complete.
The MDM server may need two or more syncs to confirm that the uninstallation is complete, so if the message does not disappear, wait a while and sync again.
The message also does not disappear while the device is not connected to the internet, so also check theLast Accessdate and time in the device information. - On the edit screen of the target device, change the assigned template back to the original template and click
Save & Sync.
You can also prevent the Web Clip icon from being deleted from the Home Screen
by clearing the Allow removal check box in the Web Clip payload of the profile. Consider this option as well.
Last updated: November 9, 2021