What events cause a device to be removed from the unit's enrollment?
The following events are possible.
- Sending the
Withdrawcommand from the admin console - Sending the
Wipecommand from the admin console - Deleting the MDM profile on the device
- Erasing the device
- Erasing due to exceeding the specified number of failed passcode attempts
- Overwriting with iTunes/iCloud backup data (except when restoring a backup taken after MDM enrollment to the original device)
For these events, the device status changes as follows.
For 1) and 2), the Status in CONFIG > Device in the admin console becomes Withdrawn.
For 3), the status becomes Withdrawn only if the device can connect to the server when the profile is deleted. Otherwise, it becomes Enrolled.
For the erasure in 4) and 5), the status does not change from Enrolled.
For 6), the device is erased before the data is overwritten, so the status remains Enrolled.
To prevent devices from being withdrawn from the unit through the device operations in 3), 4), 5), and 6), see How can I prevent users from withdrawing devices from the unit through device operations?.
Last updated: March 16, 2022