Can I update an app while it is in Single App Mode?
iOS / iPadOS
Yes, you can. (Verified on iOS 15.5.)
This applies to VPP (Store), Custom B2B, and in-house apps alike.
However, this behavior depends on the OS specifications, so it may change depending on the OS version.
If the app is not updated because of the OS version, you must temporarily exit Single App Mode.
In addition, Auto Update must be set to Enabled for the app.
For details about automatic app updates, see App Store Apps.
- Publish the latest version of the app and release it after Apple review.
- Check the device sync status (confirm that
(App name): Installation by sync is requiredis displayed). - Exit Single App Mode.
- Run a sync.
- After the sync is complete, send the Single App command.
While Single App Mode is off, you can prevent the use of other apps by applying Restrict app usage (supervised devices only).
Android
Yes, you can.
When the update runs, the app is forcibly closed and Single App (Kiosk) Mode is temporarily turned off. When the update is complete, the device automatically returns to Single App Mode.
While Single App Mode is off, you can prevent the use of other apps by using "Application Configuration - Apps to Hide" in the profile.
Last updated: September 11, 2026