An app with the same identifier is already installed on the device
This message appears when an app that you plan to install using MDM has already been installed on the device without using MDM.
Apps installed without using MDM are shown with "Management Status" set to "Unmanaged" on the Applications tab of the device details screen.
If you need to manage the app with MDM, use the "Auto Management" feature to change it from "Unmanaged" to "Managed".
For how to enable "Auto Management", see "Auto Management (iOS 9 or later only)".
Note: You can change the setting from either the app edit screen or the template edit screen.
Last updated: January 15, 2026