Skip to main content
iOS
iPadOS
The screenshots in this manual show the Japanese version of each screen.

Cannot use Safari Private Browsing

Safari Private Browsing is a feature that lets you browse websites without leaving browsed pages, search history, or AutoFill information on the device. It is equivalent to an "Incognito window" in Google Chrome and similar browsers.

If you cannot switch Safari to Private Browsing, check the following two points.

1. The Allow Safari private browsing setting in the profile

If Allow Safari private browsing is turned off in Restrictions (Functionality) of the applied profile, Private Browsing cannot be used. To allow its use, turn this item on and sync.

note

Allow Safari private browsing is effective on supervised devices running iOS / iPadOS 26.0 or later. For details, see (iOS) Profile Settings Types and Contents.

2. The Content Filter setting in the profile

If a Content Filter is configured in the applied profile and the filter type is set to Built-in: Limit Adult Content or Built-in: Specific Web Sites Only, Private Browsing cannot be used even if Allow Safari private browsing is on. This is due to iOS / iPadOS specifications.

What to do if you are using a content filter

Private Browsing cannot be used while a content filter is applied. Decide whether to prioritize website access control or Private Browsing, based on your operational needs.

For how to configure a content filter, see Control access to websites (iOS).

Back to FAQ top

Last updated: October 16, 2026