Skip to main content
iOS7.0-
MacOS
The screenshots in this manual show the Japanese version of each screen.

Enroll ADE (formerly DEP) Devices

DEP has been renamed ADE (Automated Device Enrollment).

The final step to make a device manageable is to enroll it from the device. When enrollment is complete, the device is registered in BizMobile Go! and can be managed.

For an ADE device, enrollment is completed simply by erasing the device and then following the on-screen instructions to make it ready for use (activation).

When enrollment is complete, the device is registered in BizMobile Go!, and the profiles, apps, and other items registered in the same template as the device are distributed to it, so device setup (kitting) is completed automatically.

info

If you restore from an iCloud backup at the same time as you re-enroll a device, enrollment may fail because of the Stolen Device Protection feature, which is specific to devices running iOS / iPadOS 17.3.
Stolen Device Protection may be turned on in the following cases:
• Find My is ON (signed in with an Apple ID)
• Face ID is set up

Description of Stolen Device Protection on the Apple site
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT212510

Steps to enroll an ADE device​

iOS / iPadOS​

  1. Confirm that the device is ready for enrollment.
    The device is ready when the ADE device (serial number) has been linked to an ADE profile.
    Check the link status in Profile Status on the AUTO ENROLLMENT screen.
    • [AUTO ENROLLMENT] → [ADE Device] → [Device] → [Profile Status]

Profile Status:
• assigned, pushed: Ready
  You can proceed to the enrollment steps below.
• assigning: Not ready
  Wait up to about 10 minutes for the next ADE sync, and then check the status again.
• Other: Individual check required
  Check the progress of linking the ADE device to the ADE profile in Profile Status.
  After you check it and take any required action, check the status again.

2. Turn on the device. If the device has already completed initial setup, reset it to its factory settings. 3. Select a language and region. 4. Select an appearance and tap Continue.

  1. When the Quick Start screen appears, tap Set Up Without Another Device to proceed.

  2. On the Languages for Typing and Dictation screen, select Continue to proceed.

  3. Configure the Wi-Fi settings.


    If there is no Wi-Fi environment and the device is a Cellular model with an active SIM card inserted, scroll down on the Wi-Fi settings screen and tap [Use Cellular Connection].

  4. When the settings are complete, select Next.

  5. Device activation starts.

  6. When the Remote Management screen appears, select Enroll This iPhone.

warning

If the Remote Management screen does not appear:
The ADE profile may not have been linked to the ADE device when activation started.
Complete activation once, reset the device from the Settings app, and then repeat the enrollment steps from the beginning.

warning

Due to Apple specifications, Leave Remote Management or Remove iPhone (or iPad) from Organization is displayed for 30 days after a device is registered in Apple Business (formerly Apple Business Manager) using Apple Configurator. This display and the corresponding action cannot be restricted.
If you select Leave Remote Management or Remove iPhone (or iPad) from Organization, automatic enrollment (MDM registration) in BizMobile Go! is not performed and normal activation takes place. In addition, the device is removed from Apple Business, so you must register the device in Apple Business again (make it an ADE device) and activate it again after erasing the device.

  1. Configuration installation starts.
    Wait until the installation completes and the screen changes.

  2. Initial device setup starts.
    Settings specified as Skip items in the ADE profile are skipped and not displayed.

  3. When all settings are finished, device setup (kitting) and enrollment in BizMobile Go! are complete.

warning

For an ADE device registered in Apple Business using Apple Configurator, for 30 days after registration, the Leave Remote Management button is displayed in the MDM profile shown in the Settings app after enrollment, which lets the user remove the device from MDM management on the device itself. This display and behavior, which are due to Apple specifications, cannot be prohibited.

warning

For an ADE device registered in Apple Business using Apple Configurator, for 30 days after registration, This iPhone (or iPad) is remotely managed is displayed on the lock screen. (iPhone (or iPad) varies by device type, such as iPhone or iPad.)

macOS​

  1. Turn on the device. If the device has already completed initial setup, reset it to its factory settings.

  2. Select a language and region.

  3. On the Languages for Typing and Dictation screen, click Continue to proceed.

  4. On the Accessibility screen, click Not Now to proceed.

  5. Configure the Wi-Fi settings, and click Continue when finished.
    Note: If the device is connected to the network by wire, this screen is not displayed.

  6. When activation starts and the Remote Management screen appears, click Enroll.

  7. Installation of the enrollment profile starts.
    Wait until the installation completes and the screen changes.

    warning

    If the Remote Management screen does not appear:
    The ADE profile may not have been linked to the ADE device when activation started.
    Complete activation once, reset the device from the Settings app, and then repeat the enrollment steps from the beginning.

    warning

    Due to Apple specifications, Leave Remote Management is displayed for 30 days after a device is registered in Apple Business using Apple Configurator. This display and the corresponding action cannot be prohibited.
    If you delete the profile, automatic enrollment (MDM registration) in BizMobile Go! is not performed and normal activation takes place. In addition, the device is removed from Apple Business, so you must register the device in Apple Business again (make it an ADE device) and activate it again after erasing the device.

  8. Initial device setup starts.
    Settings specified as Skip items in the ADE profile are skipped and not displayed.

  9. On the Create a Computer Account screen, enter Full name, Account name, and Password, and click Continue.

  10. Screens are displayed according to the ADE profile settings.
    Settings specified as Skip items are skipped and not displayed.

  11. If the Select Your Time Zone screen appears, select Set time zone automatically using your current location and wait a moment.
    When your current location is displayed, click Continue.

  12. When all settings are finished, device setup (kitting) and enrollment in BizMobile Go! are complete.

warning

For an ADE device registered in Apple Business using Apple Configurator, for 30 days after registration, the − (minus) button is displayed in the MDM profile shown in the Settings app after enrollment, which lets the user remove the device from MDM management on the device itself. This display and behavior, which are due to Apple specifications, cannot be prohibited.

info

Depending on the network conditions of the device setup environment, it may take some time for all of the profiles, apps, and other items registered in the template to be installed on the device.

info

If enrollment fails, the following causes are possible:

  1. The serial number of the device itself does not match the serial number registered in the device information.
  2. The enrollment expiration date has passed.
  3. A problem inside the device or on the network.

For 1) and 2), confirm and register the correct information, and then try enrolling again.
For 3), going back to the previous screen and repeating the operation may resolve the problem, but in some cases you cannot go back to the previous screen and must force a factory reset.